Skip to content

The Awaited Finalé

December 24, 2007

Neil’s Blog Entry

Just got back from the last performance of Awaited, our Christmas show. I didn’t have to work the show today and so Laura and Mari and I sat in the seats to enjoy the spectacle. And I’m not too proud to say that I cried all the way through it. Bawled like a baby. Niagara Falls. I’m assuming that part of it was just relief that it was all over… but I think most of the tears came as a reaction to the beautiful artistry presented by everyone involved. Each and every person in all stages of this production simply poured their hearts into this thing… and it certainly showed during the performance.

Mari loved the show. Her favorite parts were seeing the angels and the snow in the auditorium during “Silent Night.” Yes, it actually snowed in the room. Not real snow mind you – don’t eat that stuff. But it really looked cool. The Mary and Joseph dance was a highlight for me performance-wise, which is surprising because I’m not a big fan of dance. But it was very well done and very expressive.

Actually, this whole show was very expressive and it really has affected me. And I’m feeling a bit sad that it’s all over. I have had such an amazing time working on the Awaited show… it was one of the best – if not the best – artistic collaborations that I have been involved with. And now it’s over… Sad.

Meanwhile, several people have been asking me if there will be a video of the show made available. While I am not the one that will ultimately make that decision, I do know that we have recorded several of the shows and will probably be putting something together. I have no idea as to when we will do this, but if you’re interested in seeing the show just make a comment below.

Until then, here’s a link to the image above in full resolution. Hope you enjoy it.

Still with no pithy catchphrase,
Neil

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 25, 2007 11:54 am

    Interested. Interested. Interested!

    Merry Christmas, Smith Fam!

    Love from the Desert,
    Jeff & Kira

Leave a Reply

