Skip to content

Christmas Cookies, Part 2

December 20, 2007

Laura’s Blog Entry

It’s the home stretch. The final countdown. The fat lady is singing… and she’s ready to eat delicious cookies!

I mixed up the final dough the other day – the Peppakakor.

I baked one batch so far. Two more to go, but I will do those closer to Christmas. We talked about Peppakakor on the podcast; it is a very thin, crispy spice cookie from Sweden. This cookie makes Neil the happiest.

This year I also did a batch of fudge as a new addition to the selection. It looks pretty boring in the pan, but here is a photo of some of the ingredients. Yum!

Speaking of candy, the caramels are back. I only did half the recipe this year. It still took forever to wrap over 60 pieces in waxed paper. Looks cool, though.

And finally, another of the labor-intensive recipes, Raspberry-Apricot Rugelach.

This is a cream cheese pastry, spread with seedless raspberry jam, and then topped with a filling of dried apricots, walnuts, sugar and cinnamon. If I didn’t use parchment paper on the cookie sheets these would still be attached to the pans. The filling leaks out in the most delicious way, but it is stronger than Gorilla Glue when it cools.

I finally hit the wall the other day, though. My list of things to do has just gotten longer instead of shorter. Mari was home sick with a bad cold and I went into a panic because I couldn’t get out and do errands. I HAVE A LIST! THIS IS NOT ON THE SCHEDULE!

So I am trying to figure out what can go from the schedule. Up to this point it has been the knitting and reading and soaking in the bathtub time that has gone. But that makes me cranky as all get out, so I am on to Plan “B.”

So here’s one change – from now on, I only going to post a link to this blog on MySpace, instead of recreating the whole blog there for each post. I love my MySpace friends, but I figure they can click the link and come on over here to read the entries. It looks prettier here anyway. That will cut my blogging time in half, so I am pretty happy about that. I considered stopping doing laundry, but the consequences for that aren’t too appealing.

Neil had his final rehearsal for the big Christmas show he is working on. Opening night was yesterday, so soon he will have his life back. We had only seen him for a short hour or so on Monday and Tuesday. And the fact that I was taking care of a sick kid made that bad timing. But we made it through. He has to be at 6 of the 8 shows, but there won’t be any more late night rehearsals, just performances. And we can all sit and enjoy the performance on Christmas Eve. It will be a fun way to celebrate Christmas.

There is a looming pile of receipts to be entered into the computer but I am not going to let it intimidated me. If you don’t look them in the eye, they can’t burrow into your soul and steal all the time you could be using to take a nap.

1/2/08 Note: If anyone would like any of the recipes, e-mail me at smithsoccasional@gmail.com and I will send it to you.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2007 4:03 pm

    Okay, my rugelach did not look like that at all. How are you able to keep the dough chilled enough that it does not become unable to handle? Do you roll it out and throw it in the fridge?
    You should realy photograph for food magazines and cookbooks. Your pictures are outstanding. Truly outstanding. I love them. I want to frame lthem and put them in my kitchen. I am not kidding.

  2. December 20, 2007 4:04 pm

    You know what I am going to do? I am making cherry almond biscotti this evening. I will photograph it and you can see the difference between an amateur and a pro.

  3. December 20, 2007 4:16 pm

    Let’s see… I chill it overnight for one thing. Use lots of flour to roll it out. Do you use butter or margarine? Butter gets harder when it chills. (You seem like you’d be a butter user.) Other than that, I don’t know. Could be the pastry recipe. I can send you mine and you can compare.

    PS – I suck at Biscotti, so you win! i need that recipe and tips. I’ve done it twice and it was gross both times.

  4. December 21, 2007 9:45 am

    Beyond “WOW” I’m positively speechless, Laura. I want to move near you and be your bff. 😉

  5. December 21, 2007 9:50 am

    Lots of houses for sale! Affordable living in Cincy! I’m just sayin’.

Leave a Reply

