Skip to content

Ornamental Journey

December 13, 2007

Laura’s Blog Entry

Every year as we decorate the Christmas tree it is really fun to pull out the ornaments and remember the stories that go with each one. My friend BW has strong feelings that every ornament must have a story. Not all of ours do, but we can reminisce with the best of them. I thought I would record a few for this online scrapbook I like to call our blog.

Time out… I literally just had to go in the other room because the cat had climbed the tree and knocked off and broke one of the glass ornaments. I believe he thinks he is some sort of jungle cat. Now where was I…

This ornament was my very favorite one as a child. You probably can’t tell from the photo, but the angel is only about one inch tall. Her head is the size of a pea. When I was a kid, my mother has a pretty large collection of “little things” that came out at Christmas. All kinds of wooden and china figurines, many of them angels. My sister and I would play for hours with them, creating elaborate stories. This was my favorite to play with.

This one was made by Mari’s Auntie Andrea for her first Christmas. Auntie Andrea is very crafty!

Mari made this little train in preschool when she was 3 1/2. She brought it home all wrapped up and said they were to put it under the tree. We couldn’t open it until Christmas. I though for sure she would not be able to keep the gift a secret and would tell us what it was. She held out, though. Mari is an awesome secret-keeper!

Wow, most of these have to do with Mari. This was something my mother gave us the Christmas that Mari was so into the Teletubbies. Cute little Dipsy! That show saved my life and made it possible for me to shower while Mari was entertained.

This is a vintage ornament – so glad the cat didn’t ruin this one. It belonged to my Grandparents. I love the old Mercury Glass.

And this one is front and center this year. It makes me think of my Grandfather. It belonged to my Grandparents, but I can’t believe my Grandmother would have picked it out. It had to be him. He had a certain kitsch about him. Who else would think that a glass mouse shaped like a bee hive with creepy looking pink cheeks would look nice on the tree? Only Grandpa E.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2007 10:51 pm

    Some people have those perfect, sterile “display” trees. You know the ones I mean? I can admire that they look pretty but they don’t look like Christmas to me… Christmas is family and family is messy and weird. And it includes things like the “Dipseys” of that family’s life.

    I love that you have a “real” tree.

  2. December 14, 2007 8:01 am

    Thanks, Venus! I do know what you mean.

Leave a Reply

