Skip to content

Christmas Cookies!

December 9, 2007

Laura’s Blog Entry

Here’s where I stand as of today, December 9, in the Christmas Cookie Olympics. Three kinds down, 2 to go. Plus 2 kinds of candy.

I started this year with the Shortbread. When I was a kid, my parents sometimes traveled to Stratford, Ontario, Canada for the Shakespeare Festival. This was back in the 70’s, before grocery stores carried all the wonderful imported foods they do today. One special treat they would bring back was Walker’s Scottish Shortbread. It was so delicious! These cookies are similar in flavor, but are a little lighter and flakier.

Plus these are rolled in cinnamon sugar when warm so it sticks to the outside. Yum. Heavenly with a cup of Earl Grey tea.

Next, I did the Coconut Classics. These get rolled into logs and chilled, then are sliced and baked.

They are crispy outside and soft and a little cake-like inside. Mmmmm.

Then it was time for the crowd-pleaser… Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies. I really hate the chocolate covered cherries that are candy. But these cookies are to die for.

They have a soft brownie-like base, with a maraschino cherry in the middle, topped with a fudgey frosting that is added before baking. It all melts together as they bake. Incredible! They are a bit time consuming to assemble, but so worth it!

The new cookie sheets I bought made them stay nice and compact. I hate when they spread out in baking. Not nearly as pretty.

Today I plan on at least getting the dough made and chilled for the Rugelach. They are a flakey pastry with a filling of raspberry jam, apricots and nuts.

I am moving a bit slow today. Rich holiday foods plus a late night last night Skyping with the girls from the “It’s Not Us, It’s You” podcast have given me a nice excuse to take it easy. It was my first guest appearance on another podcast. I feel a bit like I was cheating on our show! Hope I wasn’t too exceedingly boring! I really had fun hanging out with Venus and Nicole. It’s a totally different format on their show – they have no script – YIKES! SCARY! Plus I kept forgetting I wasn’t just listening to their show – that I was actually on it and supposed to be participating. When the episode is available I’ll post a link for those of you that might be interested in hearing 3 stay-at-home moms blow off steam and just generally chit-chat.

Off to maybe finish knitting my socks. I now have a name for them – “The Muppet Pelt Socks.” That’s what Nicole calls her chenille socks. It sounds weird and creepy. So of course I love it.

Now go jingle some bells or something…

1/2/08 Note: If anyone would like any of the recipes, e-mail me at smithsoccasional@gmail.com and I will send it to you.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2007 6:27 pm

    Hey guys! I just came by to leave a note about how much I enjoy your charming podcast, but was distracted by the shortbread stars. I am going to a party on Saturday and need a killer recipe, because as the invite states, “There shall be a cookie-off reminiscent of an electric boogaloo break-off, with all the pointing, but probably fewer bandanas.”

    So clearly, I need to up my game. Would you mind sharing that recipe? 🙂

    Cheers,
    Sara

  2. December 9, 2007 6:49 pm

    oh my dear SWEET biscuits! I must have… ALL of the types Laura. MUST and recipes.

    You were not boring at all. I loved having you on the show! 😀

  3. December 9, 2007 8:41 pm

    omg look at those cookies

    you were a blast last night 🙂 I can’t wait to get editing tonight! You did want me to take out that one thing about the guy at the place right…

  4. December 10, 2007 12:57 pm

    Good God girl…send me the cocnut cookie recipe. I go cookoo for coconut!

  5. December 10, 2007 1:23 pm

    I will get these typed up and send to anyone who requests them.

  6. December 11, 2007 11:35 pm

    Those cookie pics are making me hungry…. mmmmmmmm! 🙂

Leave a Reply

