Skip to content

I’m Dreaming of a “World Violation” Christmas

December 7, 2007

Laura’s Blog Entry

For all the Christmas-haters out there, you might want to skip this festive entry. I am so happy my cleaning is done and only a few more preparations to make for the dinner party we are having tonight. I did some minimal decorating. I don’t like to put out tons of stuff because then I just have to put it all away in January. I am not a big fan of the “putting away.” I made a few festive bows for the porch so that it would not look so bare. We don’t have any life-size blow up snow globe with Santa flying over the Nativity or anything. Just a little “touch of fancy,” as Rob and Sara say on the “How Much Do We Love” podcast.

As a public service announcement I thought I would do a little step-by-step bow-making tutorial today. When I worked in retail, my favorite thing to do was hide in the stock room and be gift wrapper for the day. No pesky customers to deal with! I noticed that many people have a ribbon and bow phobia. Like, “Me, do a bow? What? Are you kidding me?”

This one’s for you.

Step One: Chose a festive ribbon and wrap it about 6 times (or more if you feel generous) around something flat. I find the DM “World Violation Tour” program is a perfect size. And it adds a certain something to the bow-making experience.

Step Two: Cut a narrow strip of ribbon, long enough to use to tie the bow together and also tie onto what you will be attaching the bow to. Set aside. Remove wrapped ribbon from the tour program, careful to keep it folded. In the center, snip two tiny opposing triangles out of the ribbon right across from each other – be sure not to cut through!

Step Three: Tie the narrow ribbon around the folded one, placing it in the triangular grooves you cut. Then just separate the loops of the bow one by one and twist slightly. You will see that they will stay in position.

Voila! A lovely bow you can use for something like this:

Or this:

Eat my dust, Martha Stewart. Never saw you work Depeche Mode into one of your craft projects. (But I’m sure you could if you really wanted to.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2007 2:35 pm

    I LOVE the bows, they look nice and easy. Nice step by step.

  2. December 9, 2007 12:05 am

    OMG I must make some.

    Quick, send me your phone # so I can call you when I am a sobbing mess because I can’t do them. LOL.

Leave a Reply

