Skip to content

Ready for the Craziness to End

November 26, 2007

Laura’s Blog Post

As usual, it was a nice holiday – but busy. We try and try to keep our schedule free of “crazy” but sometimes fun things are too tempting to pass up. And we’re kind of wiped out at the end of it all.

Thanksgiving Day was such a relief. We’ve had lots going on the last few weeks; I’ve been getting ready for Mari’s Christmas recital by working on costumes. Because a purchased costume is never good enough. Oh no! MUST HAVE MORE SPARKLE! So there were hours of sequin work going on.

I have really missed my free time during the day. I am positively cranky when I don’t get enough unstructured time. I am a planner – that’s the way I get stuff done – break it down into small chunks of time and get it accomplished. But that has to be balanced with time where I get to think, “Hmmm, what should I do now?” There has been no balance and now I am feeling it.

What makes things tricky is that Neil is gearing up at work for the busiest season of the year when he does his regular work along with extra projects for a huge Christmas show. When we are both so distracted it’s like when I used to be working – we are not very patient and everybody is snippy. It affects Mari, too, which I really dislike.

This holiday weekend was then last mile in our marathon. On Thanksgiving Day we got to sleep a bit later than usual, then headed out to spend time with family. Dinner was delicious.

There was also turkey and tons of sides, but I am most proud of the noodles. Then we enjoyed a wonderful lie down in front of the TV for the “Ghost Hunters” marathon. It is such a great show to nap to. Interesting when you are awake, but you can follow what’s happening if you doze off and then start watching again. I knitted and took a nice catnap.

Here’s my latest knitting project in process:

It’s a baby blanket for our nephew for Christmas. I made him this pillow when he was born.

His parents love vintage cowboy. For the blanket I chose colors to co-ordinate with the pillow. I am pretty proud that I designed the pattern myself. It is simple, but has a nice little edge detail and then some color bands that vary in texture. I’ll post the pattern once I finish it and work out the kinks in the instructions.

Another knitting note… I did get going on those socks.

I just put them aside to get rolling on the blanket. I am to the foot-forming part. It seems to be going OK, and I slipped them on to test the size. Seems right. It is getting cold here, so it will be nice to have them to wear around the house.

Back to Thanksgiving…

Thursday night we had a rare opportunity to have a date. The Goth/Industrial night at a local club was having a special Thanksgiving event. Thursday night is usually not convenient for getting a babysitter and staying out late. But since it was a holiday and Neil was off on Friday it was perfect! Mari had a little sleepover with her cousins. Our goth mom Donna met us at the club and we danced the night away. My, my, my is Marilyn Manson’s version of “Personal Jesus” fun to dance to. Very festive!

Friday and Saturday were a bit of a blur with Mari’s dress rehearsal and performance. She did a great job, as always and Neil controlled himself with his cheering this time. He is usually so loud she can pick him out of the crowd. Here is the sparkly outfit:

This was for a classic ballet number. It was the first time her dance has been more of a traditional ballet. She is dancing now with some of the older girls and it is amazing how much they have all progressed already since the fall. I am happy that she is being challenged while at the same time she has fun with it.

She had a costume change and then did a fun Raggedy Ann and Andy jazz dance to the song “What I Like About You.” It was very cute! Then we all went home and got the best night’s sleep we’d had in weeks! Must have been because we had nothing to worry about on Sunday! We recorded the podcast, but it was an easy one. We are playing tons of music this month. It’s a fun and eclectic mix.

So this morning is back to normal. Thank goodness! First thing I am going to do is clean off my desk. (OK, I am doing this blog first, but the desk is next.) It is a disaster. I can’t stand it another minute. Receipts, podcast jottings, phone numbers, song lyrics – I need a clean slate to think straight.

Then it is on to baking those cookies!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2007 12:17 pm

    I’m also a planner that needs down time so I know exactly what you mean.

    I’m super jealous of your noodles. I’ve never tried to make noodles but I’ve wanted to, maybe I’ll give it a shot one day.

    Your wip’s are great! And your tiny dancer is adorable.

  2. November 26, 2007 12:26 pm

    Hey Venus! Thanks for the comment – I am seeing that we are a lot alike! If you ever want noodle tips, let me know! I made notes this time.

  3. November 26, 2007 2:44 pm

    Wow, you sure had a busy holiday! *must have more sparkle*, LOL!

    Looking forward to the new podcast. And watch your mailbox for a holiday card with a little present in it. Well, the present is only for Laura. You’ll understand when you see it. 😉

  4. November 26, 2007 2:49 pm

    Sounds intriguing! I will stalk the mail carrier starting tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

