Skip to content

The Knitting! and Knitting! and Knitting! Blog

November 7, 2007

Laura’s Blog Entry

I am in a euphoric state of completion. Let’s get to the photos, shall we?

More scarves.

The one on the left is another colorway I came up with for the black and gray scarf I pictured on an earlier blog. This scarf is great if you need a mindless project. All garter stitch, but the color changes mean you have to pay attention. I love, love, love these fall colors.

The one on the right is super-soft and done with Lion Homespun. Sometimes I do need to use acrylic, people. Send hate mail to Neil, please, because I don’t want to hear it. I actually used the pattern on the ball band. I did substitute size 17 needles because I don’t have size 19.

Next I finished the two backpacks for the pre-teens in my life.

My favorite detail on them are the buttons I found that look perfect.

This was a free Lion Pattern using the recommended yarn. You may need to register on their site to view the patterns. I can’t remember for sure. Just search for “knitted garter stitch backback” at the link above.

One more synthetic and I’ll be done torturing you. These pillows are for the pre-teens’ birthdays in January. Fun Fur! They are called “Teen Striped Pillow” in case you want to find the pattern.

I had to come up with a way to close up the pillows. I make custom pillows (although these are the first I have knitted) and it is important to me that all of them have removable covers for washing. I finally had a brainstorm and sewed buttons on the inside, and then just buttoned them through the knitted fabric so they come out on the front. No buttonholes needed. I usually use Velcro, but that would be disastrous combined with Fun Fur, I assure you. The buttons don’t show, but I don’t care. They are just there for function.

Finally, my most favorite project so far… and I can’t say what it is. Here is a photo that I hope doesn’t give it away. I love the colors. I’ll post a link to the pattern after Christmas.

Now I am off on another project. I made a couple purses a few years ago for the pre-teens who were not pre-teens then. I have been inspired by my new friends Venus and Nicole and their craft blogs to really seriously develop that design into a line of handbag and totes. I am just in R&D at the moment, but I am really, really inspired. I have construction to work out and embellishments to try, but I am very excited. Here is my inspiration:

I am recycling blue jean for these. Free, (at least until I deplete my stash) cool and earth friendly. Then I plan to embellish and artsy them up. My head is spinning with ideas, so off I go to mess with some fabric. If I set up my sewing machine next to the computer I think I can still play TV Show Trivia on Facebook while I sew!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2007 12:42 pm

    You are a MACHINE, Laura!!! Creativity is oozing out from you!

  2. November 7, 2007 2:15 pm

    Oh you sweet-talker! You know what the ladies like to hear – always use the work “oozing.” We LOVE it!

  3. November 7, 2007 4:29 pm

    Wow Laura, you’ve been busy! And you really have an eye for color – everything is Gore-geous. 🙂

  4. November 8, 2007 12:02 pm

    Choosing colors is probably my favorite part of a project. Must be all those paint chips from my designing days!

Leave a Reply

