Skip to content

The Zen of Cooking

October 31, 2007

Laura’s Blog Entry

Ok, first of all, new podcast tomorrow. Enough said.

I haven’t felt that much like cooking lately. It’s one of those things – when I love it, I love it. When I don’t feel like it, it is torture. Sometimes planning a special even can snap me out of it. Enchilada Night seems to have done that.

Luckily my enthusiasm had held, because yesterday I had planned a pretty ambitions meal for a weeknight: spaghetti, with a killer sauce made by a local company called Schiavone’s Marinara Spaghetti Sauce. (OK that part is a no-brainer.) Paired with Caesar Salad made with homemade garlic croutons and homemade dressing. Yum! Also, I made some Parmesan Cheese Bread, pictured below during the first rise.

It seems my favorite time to cook is in the mornings. The house is quiet; my brain is relatively uncluttered and as fresh as it is ever going to be. Mornings are the most productive time for me, in general. That doesn’t mean I like getting out of bed, though. I HATE IT. Especially since we got our Sleep Number Bed. (Thank you, Lindsey Wagner and your most convincing commercial!)

But once I am up, I get lots done. There is something positively Zen about having the stand mixer going, kneading the bread and the food processor going, smushing up garlic, at the same time. If I were really good at multi-tasking, I could haven taken a sip of tea while all this was going on. I bet Martha could have done it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2007 9:37 pm

    I’ll definitely have to give the sauce a try… do you recommend a specific variation? I must add… terrible, terrible web site. Not only does horrible, horrible music blast with no warning, but there is no mute option on the site. I am glad I did not click the link at work. But your recommendation overwhelms their site… 🙂

  2. November 1, 2007 9:37 am

    Ha! Their site made me laugh! I was going to warn people about the music, but I thought it would be more fun if they got a surprise. We use the one called “Marinara Spaghetti Sauce.” They carry it at Biggs grocery store here in town, but are often out of that variety. I’m sure the others are probably good, too. I think I am going to get a case of it. I want to try the pizza sauce!

Leave a Reply

