Skip to content

Enchilada Night Spruce Up

October 26, 2007

Laura’s Blog Entry

Maybe it’s that full moon, but I am ultra productive this week. Enchilada night is partly to blame. I am nearly finished with a little spruce for the house. Here is the #1 priority for a spruce…

Update vintage DM and Over the Rhine posters in the living room. This is vital, I assure you. “Strangelove” is now safely stored in the basement for a time. Here are some equally important but somewhat odd things I also felt compelled to do before friends come for dinner:

Clean the oven – because they’ll all be looking in there; don’t think they won’t! The second my back is turned…

Wash slipcovers. This is especially considerate when one of the guests is allergic to our cat.

Dust, vacuum, blah, blah, blah.

Scrub around the outer edge of the kitchen sink with a toothbrush.

Clean the innerworkings of the electronic air cleaner. Not sure about my compulsion to get this done. No one is allowed in my basement, upon penalty of death! But I feel better now knowing it is sparkling inside there.

Sounds like someone is ready for a cocktail… I love to cook when the mood hits me. But I need a week to prepare because I do all these odd little things that I am not motivated to take care of if there is no pending event.

So the rest of the day will be spent putting together the enchiladas, getting out serving dishes, hunting down enough cloth napkins, all while listening to yet another kickin’ electronic music compilation that arrived yesterday from England, sent by the lovely Andrew.

Tomorrow is completion day for the Christmas knitting projects and podcast recording day. Get ready for a Thanksgiving feast for your ears.

Things are beeping so I better scoot…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2007 11:09 am

    You’re awesome! I love you.

  2. October 26, 2007 11:16 am

    Yes, well… you haven’t seen the list I have prepared for you to complete before the guest arrive.

  3. October 27, 2007 5:56 am

    I love the way you two communicate via blog! Glad you got the CD, was a bit worried it had gone astray in our national post strike, better late than never. Email sent from hotel room in London on a rubbish stolen wifi signal!

  4. October 27, 2007 10:35 am

    Yes, I really think though that reading the blog is Neil’s way of seeing what the heck I am up to all day!

  5. October 27, 2007 11:41 am

    What do you mean by that? We talk in person… well… maybe not right now… at this moment… but sometimes. Who are you again?

  6. November 19, 2007 5:15 am

    Wow!!

    What I would give to have a room like the one in your picture. Unfortunately my other half, well let’s just say that my obsession with Depeche Mode just isn’t appreciated by her. She just doesn’t understand!!!

    Still my little boy will come up to me, give a thumbs up & say ‘Depeche Mode rule!!!’ ha which really annoys her, she thinks I’m brain washing him (and my eldest loves them as well.) Just my youngest and then I have the complete set!

  7. November 19, 2007 9:42 am

    Hello dvotee –
    Ha! Nice work. We’ve got to get the next generation on the right path. Our daughter listened to DM in the womb and I am convinced we owe every bit of her intelligence to that! Forget Mozart – DM is the baby brain food!

Leave a Reply

