Skip to content

Where’s a Silver Bullet When You Need One?

October 22, 2007

Laura’s Blog Entry

Quick entry before my hot date with the vacuum cleaner. Our friends Mike and Donna played this video for us Friday night and I am still giggling. This is the best vampire disco Switzerland has to offer. It’s like the Star Wars theme meets a Goth “Thriller,” if you will. Oh, yes, please! I certainly will!

Martin Gore, sick with the flu, with hearing loss in both ears, and a hand cramp couldn’t write lyrics this bad.

There is also the original music video for this song on Youtube. I posted the live version as I wasn’t satisfied with the video quality on the video. But it is worth taking a look.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2007 2:39 pm

    Someone actually approved this performance for production? 15 seconds in it was obvious that the cheese factor was a sky high. Thanks for the laughs! 😉

  2. October 23, 2007 5:47 pm

    OK, so explain to me the “depeche mode” tag to the post. Just b/c you mention Martin Gore couldn’t write lyrics that bad? I know you are obsessive… er… I mean a really big fan of DM, but this is a stretch… 🙂

  3. October 23, 2007 6:56 pm

    A bit more info on this ‘song’. You may have heard me talking on my show about the Eurovision Song Contest? Well, this was Switzerland’s entry this year, it never even got through the semi-final, but at one point was tipped to be a winner. Apparently DJ whatever his name is, is quite big in his homeland along with cheese – which seems oddly appropriate as this is cheesy beyond belief. The only positive thing about it is that at the time the fundamentalist Christians got very upset as they feared that Switzerland was being shown to the rest of the world as a nation of vampire loving satanists.

    If you fancy seing some other dirge, Eurovision has plenty to offer but there are also some genuinely good songs in there too, they usually don’t score very highly though as gimmicky pop trash usually wins the day, surprising that this didn’t do very well in hindsight as it fits that criteria perfectly!

  4. October 23, 2007 8:05 pm

    OK, bsherm – I won’t reply to you here. We’ll just berate you in public on Friday in response to your comment. You obviously don’t understand the Depeche mind-set – AT ALL!

    Andrew, Andrew – I’ve been waiting for you to weigh in on this post! When I found out this was from Eurovision I told Neil you would fill us in on the details. You are my expert! PS – I loved the line above about the cheese…

Leave a Reply

