Skip to content

Welcome to Gothy-Music-Land (Part 1)

October 18, 2007
tags:

Neil’s Blog Entry

So this week, I’m taking my last five days of vacation time in order to work on a new record. I know, they’re not called records anymore, but I don’t care. Also, I probably will make it a digital-only release – so I can’t really call it a CD either.

Anyway, I spent the last four days just playing around… experimenting with sounds that interest me… writing little bits of music here and there. I then arranged all those bits and pieces into songs and parts of songs.

As I mentioned on the podcast, I will be joined by my friend Dave (from BSG video contest fame) who will be adding his glorious guitar-ness to everything. The sound for this new album is very dark (duh) and gothy (double duh). It will have layers and layers of atmosphere and ethereal, industrial goodness. I’m very excited about it!

So now it’s Thursday, and I have about 10 or 11 solid tracks; and as I write this, I’m copying all of them onto a hard drive to give to Dave so he can start adding his parts.

So that’s it for now. I have no idea as to a timeframe for the record – I don’t want to rush myself – but as new things develop, I will keep you all updated as best I can.

Still no pithy catchphrase… Bye.
Neil

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2007 4:00 pm

    Neil, I’m looking forward to hearing your next CD. I mean record. I mean digital release. 🙂 The way that you describe it is very intriguing…

  2. October 18, 2007 5:35 pm

    Thanks, heatherremix! One thing I hope to do sometime in the future is to “leak” a track or two for all the blog readers and podcast listeners. Ya gotta make sure you got the perks for the fans, knowwhatImean?! Stay tuned for more progress.

  3. December 27, 2007 10:34 am

    Neil, what software do you use again for this?

Leave a Reply

