Skip to content

“My home is where the heart is… sweet to surrender… to you only…

October 12, 2007

Laura’s Blog Entry

… I send my love to you.”
Ah, Erasure said it best in “Blue Savannah.”

As the lovely Andrew of Liverpool moves house today, I was thinking about the many homes I have had over the years. In Cincinnati alone I have lived in 6 different apartments or houses in different parts of town. I wish I had photos from all of them.

My first home was a little house divided into two apartments. It was a small cottage very near to where I live now. But that was only home for a few months. My housemate and I then moved downtown to a cool loft. No photos of it either. I was too busy with my nightlife at the time to take pictures, I guess. The loft had been an art gallery at one time, so it was very minimalistic in décor. I had a cool bedroom that had an amazing view of what used to be the Central Trust Tower. And multiple huge closets. Plus we could look out the front and see across the river and into Kentucky. It was killer during the fireworks. And it was close to my precious nightlife at The Metro and NRG. Anyone else frequent those little gems of 80’s dance goodness? No wonder I was skinny back then. All that dancing.

I had met Neil at that point and was spending tons of time at his apartment in Mt. Adams. He went to the nearby then-museum-affiliated art school. This is a cool area just to the north of downtown. It sits on a huge hill and overlooks the river. From what I hear it was a home to artists and hippies in the 60’s and 70’s. But by the late 80’s it was taken over by yuppie renovators. It is as cute as ever, and has a mix of architecture. Hey, Vidal Sassoon has a home there, I hear.

Neil lived the life of a starving artist there in Mt. Adams with a woodburning fireplace and a swimming pool in his complex. Here’s a photo of Neil by the pool.

Echo and the Bunnymen, anyone? In Mt. Adams everything is jammed very close together, so next door to Neil’s building was a church. It was odd on Sundays to sit by the pool and hear the choir start to sing. A bit disconcerting. Not to mention guilt inducing. But we made it through those tough times!

After living downtown, I had a little, tiny apartment all by myself near Eden Park. I loved that little place. And it was all mine. The only photo I could find is of me in the parking lot, on the way to go see Depeche Mode at Riverbend for the World Violation Tour. Now those were good times! And nice jean shorts!

When Neil and I got married, we got the wonderful old apartment I talked about on the last podcast. This I did take the time to photograph.


This was the entrance alcove to our apartment.


View of our deck from the backyard – we were the first one up.

After that wonderful place we moved to a smaller, boring box for a short time when I was in career upheaval. We scrimped a bit living there and then were able to buy our current home in 1994.

OK, that’s not our home; it’s the Frank Lloyd Wright masterpiece, Fallingwater. I love a little architectural humor, don’t you? Note Neil down in the bottom right corner.

Anyway, the point is we haven’t moved since! Our roots go deep here, but who knows what life will bring. We try not to hold on to any “thing” in a desperate, fearful kind of way. Every day I just try to appreciate what we have. And on that somewhat sappy note, cue the violins… or Erasure if you prefer.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2007 5:34 pm

    There are WAY too many photographs of me with 80’s hair that have been showing up on this blog! I think I’m gonna complain to the management… not that it’ll do me any good. Know what I mean?

  2. October 12, 2007 5:43 pm

    Cute 80’s hair, Cupcake. That’s what matters.

  3. October 13, 2007 8:14 am

    Ah, the 80’s. I will have to scan my only headshot. It was from the 80’s and I had the nuclear explosion of hair-don’ts. Tight and cropped on the sides and back and HUGE on top. I used a lot of Tenax. Do you remember Tenax? It came in the aluminum green tube and was like a British version of V-05 hair creme. Of course we would never use V-05, only Tenax. I also think it was in the 80’s that mousse became popular. Lots of mousse. I think we need to talk about this on our next podcast.

  4. October 13, 2007 8:21 am

    I forgot to mention…loved Echo and the Bunnymen. We would have been great friends in the 80’s (and now of course). Same likes in music. I was into anything techno that came from from the U.K. Top favorites included (in no particular order):
    Erasure
    New Order
    The Cure
    Depeche Mode
    Echo
    Coctaeu Twins
    The The
    The Smiths
    Bronski Beat (although they only put out 1 album, I think)
    English Beat
    Yaz (or Yazoo as they were originally named)
    Roxy Music
    Joy Division
    just to name a few. 🙂

  5. October 13, 2007 11:05 am

    Bingo, Mr. Bee on those band choices. We definitely would have been great friends back then. I may have said this before, but the late 80’s were one of the best times in my life. Early 80’s – THE WORST!

    Oh, and Neil loves the Cocteau Twins. I’ll have to have him tell a story about them on the podcast.

  6. October 15, 2007 6:20 pm

    Great posting you two. Thanks for the mention. We’ve moved, we’re settled (ish!) and most importantly we have the internet again, didn’t like being unplugged from the matrix. The move wasn’t without the usual traumas that made me remember why I hate moving house so much but it’s largely sorted now and the place feels like hoooo-o-o-ome now (that was in the style of M Gore). A new Podcast is planned very soon and when the renovations are complete there will be a video to show off all our hard work.

    Cheerio…

    A n d r e w

  7. October 15, 2007 6:50 pm

    Andrew, glad to here you didn’t get taped up in a box and left behind somewhere! Can’t wait to see the new digs!

  8. October 16, 2007 3:57 pm

    Wow, that Victorian apartment building really was lovely! I used to live in an apartment building from that era but it was so poorly cared for – didn’t have half the character of yours. Great story about that artist and his studio btw!

    Neil, love that hair. 😉

Leave a Reply

