Skip to content

Now Playing 5

October 4, 2007

Laura’s Blog Entry

Stumbling out of my sick bed (oh the drama), it’s time for “Now Playing 5.” I cannot bear to watch one more minute of the history of the Druids on The National Geographic Channel. Although try watching “Brett Michaels – Rock of Love” when you have a fever. Somehow it all makes sense that way.

“The Way I Am”

Ingrid Michaelson

You may have heard this song recently featured on an Old Navy ad. “If you are chilly, here take my sweater…” There is something really intimate about her songs. I also love her quirky voice. I wish I had a quirky voice. Anyway, this is a very sweet little 2-minute song that hit me hard lately. I’ve been having a pretty amazing year of growth and revelations. I am sending this song out to new friends who have accepted me as I am, no questions asked. You know who you are.

“Good Tradition”

Tanita Tikaram

Does anyone remember her album Ancient Heart that came out in 1988? It is a very interesting album, done when she was only 19 years old. She certainly had way more depth at 19 than I did. I’m not even sure how to categorize this album. It has peppy little ditties like this one, with catchy trumpets lines, and then more serious songs like “Twist in My Sobriety.” A good remastering would update the mix of this album and make it a real classic in my collection.

“Halloween”

Tre Lux

Fitting choice for this month.This is a cover of the Ministry tune recorded for the soundtrack to the movie Blood and Chocolate. I haven’t seen the film; Neil said it is in the “just OK” category. But I love the soundtrack. Although none of the songs are actually used in the film. What’s up with that? Some marketing genius at work, I guess. Can you sense some nostalgia in this list for the late ‘80’s?

“Blue Dress”

Hungry Lucy

Ah, it’s finally made the list – my favorite Depeche Mode song. But I thought I’d switch things up and list it as a cover song. This is the first song Warren and Christa Belle did together as a band. I really love this song done with a female vocal. It changes the perspective of it and makes it seem more like a memory that is being recalled. This has got to be one of the most simple and perfect songs ever written.

“Destroy Everything You Touch”

Ladytron

Here’s another electronic band I was late to discover, but better late than never. They have a kickin’ retro vibe and a dense sound. It has got to be hard to mix that sound live, I would think. I haven’t seen them live, but hope to. They just finished touring and are off the Paris to record the follow up to Witching Hour. I love a good angry song. I could seriously go into a gothy, dancing frenzy at a club to this one. I’ll have to request it if I ever get to go dancing again… sigh…

“Watching Me Fall”

The Cure

As I heard people talk about going to see The Cure on their now rescheduled tour, I pulled out Bloodflowers and did my weight training to this song. “Watching Me Fall” is one of my top Cure songs, but then there are so many top Cure songs for me. Clocking in at 11:14 it is epic Cure. In his special way, Robert Smith tells a story and I get completely lost in it. The Cure is a mythical entity to me. Robert shows me what I could only ever hope to be as an artist.

Midnight

Yaz(oo)

Vince Clarke, master of the synth. Can he write a hook, or what? What gets me about Yaz is the contrast of the synths with Alison Moyet’s voice. Her control and dynamics make me swoon. How can something be so pop and not pop at the same time? Brilliant!

OK, now I’ll make sure the house isn’t burning down and the child still has all her limbs, then I am climbing back into bed. Colds suck.

Next up – Behind the Podcast, complete with costume photos!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2007 7:41 am

    I also just discovered the quirky Ingrid Michaelson, purely from the damn Old Navy commercial, but God I love this album.

  2. October 6, 2007 7:49 am

    How ironic that you know this song – and are one of my new friends… excuse me as I get misty-eyed yet again…

Leave a Reply

