Skip to content

Life In the 80’s – Part 2

September 25, 2007

Laura’s Blog Entry
I noticed the other morning that the sun was just coming up over the trees in the park when I started off on my walk. Friday I actually had the presence of mind to grab my camera when heading out the door.

Little did I know that I was going to encounter Bambi and his mother a few minutes later…

We often see deer in our neighborhood. Even though we are within the city limits, and near a major highway, there are some naturalized areas nearby where deer live. I know deer can be a nuisance for gardeners, but they are so pretty! As you can see this is just in front of someone’s house. It’s the closest I’ve gotten to them – about 10 feet. I wasn’t even trying; I turned and there they were.

It was a nice way to start a very long day… Mari was dismissed early from school to attend the annual Fall Festival – a big school carnival fund-raiser. We spent a short time there and Mari got to ride a few rides and play a few games. All I can say is thank goodness I won at the bowling game so she could get the blue fuzzy pony she wanted or there would have been hell to pay!

Normally that would have been enough excitement for one day, but no… off we went for a whirlwind trip to Pennsylvania for Neil’s Dad’s 80th birthday that Neil blogged about yesterday. It actually was a pretty pleasant and quick 9-hour drive this time.

We thank the podcast Filmspotting for making the time fly. It’s hard to find podcasts that are suitable for 9-year-old ears, but this one’s family friendly – and quite entertaining.

We pulled into Hanover, PA right on schedule at midnight. We hit a few of our favorite haunts on Saturday – Jerry and Sal’s Pizza, and the antique mall. Old tins caught my eye this time, but I just took photos instead of buying.

I also am drawn to the little, tiny handmade stools. Heaven knows where I would put them, but they are going on my wish list. I also have an eye out for a cast iron rooster – for what reason I am unsure. But it will come to me.

Neil wore himself slap out giving the kids rides in the PPV. (See Neil’s entry yesterday for explanation.) I, on the other hand, did what I do best: reading and knitting out on the deck.

Neil’s dad is a car buff, so Neil’s sister Peg arranged for an antique Bentley to take their parents for a drive and then bring them to the party in style.

The party was nice. It was a pretty big crowd. The grandchildren range in age from 9 months to in their 20’s, so we are an eclectic bunch. Here are Neil and I after a few “beverages.”

Note to self: No one looks good when she holds out the camera and photographs herself. I look somewhat demented.

Anyway, we were up bright and early on Sunday morning to drive home. Even when it is a good trip and the drive is pleasant, I am exhausted for the next couple of days. If I could crawl back in bed right now I would. But the carpool calls…

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 3, 2007 4:28 pm

    Aren’t deer unbearably cute, with their bitty paws and how they walk so gracefully? 🙂

Leave a Reply

