Skip to content

Inspiration… and the Bread of Life

September 14, 2007

Laura’s Blog Entry

So, do any of you have an inspiration wall? This wall is right next to my computer, and I just moved some stuff around, took down some things, added some things and generally freshened it up.

My favorite items are the Cure and Depeche Mode postcards I got in the 1980’s.

And here’s another totally unrelated question. What does it mean when a person, for now who shall remain nameless, has a dream about Fun Fur and babies driving campers? OK, she may be working on a knitting project that involves the Fun Fur, but babies driving campers? I am open to any ideas. This is for a friend… did I mention that?

Moving right along…I’ve been crafting away, and wanted to post an update on that scrapbooking project I mentioned a while back – our Disney trips. My sister had given me some luscious scrapbooking paper and ephemera for my birthday last year. (I’ve always wanted to work in the word “ephemera.” Hooray!) And I finally got down to work on this project.

I put together our 2 family Disney trips into a 8 1/2 x 11 size album. I think I like using this size. 12 x 12 albums are just too big to store. And this uses less paper. Anyway, the album is done, and here are a couple of page layouts to prove it.

Next I want to scrap our trip to LA in 2004. I have tons of pretty solid color paper left over from a big project Neil was just working on. He will post about it in a couple of weeks. Also, he got some BIG, EXCITING NEWS yesterday. I’ll let him tell you about it; hopefully he’ll put together a post about that later today.

Finally, I had a great cooking success last week. I finally mastered French bread. It is rather challenging to achieve a fully risen loaf with a good texture. With the help of Christa Belle I found out what I had been doing wrong. Here is the result…

Mmmmmm. Yummy!

It took a lot of constant tending, but was worth the effort. I cut what we weren’t able to eat right away into about 4 inch sections and froze it. Now I can warm it up each morning and make Mari her favorite Ham on French sandwich for her lunchbox.

So, I think that’s it for a Friday. I am excited to be getting out of the house to meet a friend for lunch downtown and then do my stint at the school library, shelving books. Just me and my iPod. Heaven! I can really catch up on my podcasts.

Soon to come – news from Neil and a trip to the graveyard… stay tuned…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2007 11:27 am

    Ah The Cure. I was fortunate enough to see them in 1985 when I lived in Florence…good times.

  2. September 14, 2007 11:29 am

    I hit “submt” before I finished. The french bread looks davoon! I never mastered bread-making. For some unknown reason I have been mastering baking, I can fatten you up with the greatest of ease, but bread-making always seems so daubnting to me. Very scared of it! RUN AWAY!

  3. September 14, 2007 1:21 pm

    Laura, love the inspiration wall. Speaking of which, what do you think of the artwork for the new Dave Gahan material, I think Mr Corbijn needs some inspiration, this is his laziest looking design in years and I thought he couldn’t get any worse than the last DM sleeves! I spied my tiny post it note on your wall there. New CD will be with you soon…

    A n d r e w

  4. September 14, 2007 6:55 pm

    Mr. Bee – I take it you mean Florence, Italy… not Florence, KY (which is very nearby here, BTW). Bread making is scary. There are many bricks of “bread” in my past. Once you master the water temperature, you will be on your way. That is the most crucial thing. Don’t run!

    Andrew, good eye seeing your little Mac note! I was disappointed it was so small in the photo and didn’t show up well. But you saw it anyway! Yes, Neil and I were discussing Anton’s latest art the other day. I believe Neil said something very similar to you! Can’t wait for the CD – oh goodie! Nothing better than a care package from the UK.

Leave a Reply

