Skip to content

Hotdogs and Stuff

September 5, 2007

Neil’s Blog Entry

Haven’t typed to you all in a while and was feeling a bit out of the loop. So here I am with all sorts of news for you. Well, I guess it’s not really “news,” just my nonsensical ramblings.

First up – we found a copy-cat recipe for Tony Packo’s Hot Dog Sauce. For those of you who don’t know, Tony Packo’s is a little place in Toledo whose claim to fame is serving some of the best dogs on the planet… well, at least in the Midwest. And they serve them up with a great hot dog sauce. Mmm… very tasty!

Anyway, we found this recipe online and Laura made it the other day. Wow! My friends, it is AWESOME!! It’s not “exactly” like Tony Packo’s and it could be a little hotter on the spicy scale, but very worthy of those two exclamation points. Some of you may think I’m going a bit off the deep end over a hot dog sauce but, you know, it’s the little things people.

Secondly, I have started working on my next music project. This time around, I will be having several people working with me on the music. I’m putting together some musical sketches so I can better explain my overall vision for this project to the others with whom I will be working. I am very excited about this and I plan on taking some vacation time in the next couple of months so I can get have an extended period of time when I can concentrate entirely on the music.

Next, on our most recent podcast, I mentioned that even though I like the new NIN record, Year Zero, I thought that the music was only part of what they were trying to communicate to us. And the very day after we recorded the podcast, Laura sends me this article she found online which details all of the intricate and crazy media stuff that Mr. Reznor has created as Year Zero. It’s really an impressive – and extremely creative – body of work. So go take a look and lose yourself.

Also, I have to give you all some bad news… well, bad news for me and some of my friends. Apparently, the “Battlestar Galactica” video contest has indeed ended and the winner – who obviously was not us – has been notified. I say “apparently” because there has been no official comment by SCIFI.COM as of yet – if it’s to come at all. Anyway, we’ll be talking more about the contest and it’s rather anti-climactic finish on the next podcast so be sure to tune in for that.

Still with no pithy catchphrase… Bye.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2007 4:24 pm

    I want that hot dog sauce recipe…please? 🙂

  2. September 5, 2007 5:56 pm

    I’ll e-mail it to you – probably tomorrow morning! Ask and you shall receive!

  3. September 6, 2007 2:09 pm

    Neil, I’ll still keep my fingers crossed for you in the BG contest. Your entry was really superb and the production values seemed top-notch!

    Thanks for the Year Zero article link. I’ll check that out. Are you willing to share the Tony Packo’s copy cat recipe? It’d be great to surprise Bob with that.

    Looking forward to your latest podcast. I’ll be back after listening! 🙂

  4. September 10, 2007 5:07 pm

    HeatherRemix,

    Thanks for the nice words on the BSG video. Makes me happy. And I’ll ask Laura to send out the recipe – if she hasn’t already done that.

  5. bill permalink
    November 25, 2007 8:57 pm

    I would love if You would send the Tony Packos HOT DOG SAUCE recipe To me
    THANK YOU VM !!
    Bill

  6. November 26, 2007 8:17 am

    Sure thing… sending now!

  7. Russ permalink
    January 5, 2008 12:12 pm

    Would like the recipe as well! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

