Skip to content

The Knitting (and Wine) Blog

August 28, 2007

Laura’s Blog Entry 

As I sit here twiddling my thumbs until the next podcast comes out, how about a crafty blog to help pass the time? I just know you all are oh so anxious to hear the next podcast, am I right? OK, if you’re not, just keep it to yourself, will ya? It would completely crush me.

So here’s what been “on the needles” so to speak lately. I am deep into holiday knitting. Gifts, gifts and more gifts. There are some pre-teens on the list and here is a peek at what they are getting:

Yes, it’s Fun Fur. It is indeed fun. And quite furry. I love the color combo I came up with on this one.

Also knitting related, a while ago Mari was kind enough to let me raid her bead supply to make these stitch markers. For non-knitters these are used to mark things in a row of knitting, a stitch change, for example, so that the knitter isn’t stuck counting and counting and counting stitches. They are very pretty and I want to make more that fit larger needles, too.

I finished up one of my first projects recently. It’s a set of leg warmers for Mari. No, I wasn’t having a Flashdance moment. She is actually a dancer. (Although I am now fighting the urge to go cut out the neck of a sweatshirt…)

There was no rush to get them blocked (stretched out and shaped properly) and sewn together as I finished them in late spring when it was too hot to wear them. Now they are set for when the cool weather hits.

I totally butchered the ribbing; some of it is seed stitch instead, but it was a good learning process. They are quite wearable, errors and all. I gave up on perfection in my life a while back. Sometime I rip things out and fix errors, but I was making so many mistakes at that point that it was better to just keep knitting and learn what I was doing wrong. It is cool to see how much I have improved since I made these!

I am currently looking for a sock pattern to give a try. I need to see what all the fuss is about regarding hand-knit socks. And winter will be the perfect time to give it a shot. I have researched enough to know that I will first do a toe-up pattern to make sure they fit. I also plan to do the two sock on two circular needles method. I like the idea of doing both at once.

I also have my eye out there for a sweater to try. I am not big on sweaters – I only own a few. But that is because they rarely fit me right. This could solve the problem.

The biggest and most exciting project has been the Mohawk Hat from the Pretty in Punk book. It is finished, but won’t be revealed until the podcast comes out on Saturday.

Finally, the wine. HeatherReMix and her husband Bob sent Neil and I home from our fun trip earlier this summer with bottles of homemade wine. The bottles were so pretty I had to take pictures.

Well it tasted just as good as it looked. Yum! Guess I’ll have to go back to the Riesling now that these are finished.

Time for dinner and homework – and then bake some Snickerdoodles! Hope the new recipe I found is good…

PS – It was.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2007 1:47 am

    I want a cookie.

  2. August 29, 2007 6:46 am

    Just wait until the holidays – I hope to drive everyone nuts with all the tasty treats!

  3. kataarina permalink
    August 29, 2007 11:35 am

    Thank you for sharing tyour creative ideas I love the knitting markers. I am going to try to make some for myself.

  4. August 29, 2007 11:44 am

    Hi kataarina! I think I got the instructions for these from the book “Odd Ball Knitting” by Barbara Albright. At least I’m pretty sure it was from that book. It’s not too hard to make them, anyhow. Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

