Skip to content

Reclaiming the Bar

August 20, 2007

Laura’s Blog Entry

Lots of new music these days. Last week I got my copy of Recoil’s Subhuman Deluxe CD. I don’t want to talk about it now, as it will be the topic of conversation on the next podcast. And just so Neil wouldn’t feel left out I got him Nine Inch Nails’ Year Zero. When I gave it to him he said he had planned to buy it online that very day and just ran out of time. Perfect!

So I am still in a fall frenzy around the house and got some more things done this weekend. On Saturday morning I reclaimed the bar. All the papers I sorted last week had been housed there, so it wasn’t much of a bar anymore. Well, it is a bar once again.

MMMmmmm… Maker’s Mark.

We got this bar at a silent auction that benefited Mari’s preschool. Neil spotted it right away, and got hardcore about the competitive bidding. There was another guy who wanted it, and they went back and forth on the bidding all night. In the last few seconds Neil slowing wrote down the final bid as the time ran out. The other guy was kinda disappointed, but his wife went up to Neil, hugged him, and said, “Thank you so much for winning that. I didn’t want that monstrosity in my house!” Good times!

It is a sort of retro-tacky style with woodgrain laminate and studded black vinyl, but somehow it looks sort of nice in our dining room.

I moved the pretty glasses from where they had been stored in the kitchen. That meant I needed to rearrange 3 kitchen cabinets once that space was freed up. One thing leads to another.

Finally, we took a trip Saturday morning to Organized Living, one of my favorite stores, ever! I got some gagets for Mari’s closet to hang her belts and necklaces. I even got them installed.

Note the skull necklace – my little Goth girl.

Last night we prepped all the school supplies, so we are in good shape for tomorrow – THE FIRST DAY OF SCHOOL! Yipee! I can already sense the quiet that is about to descend on the house. So I’m off for some more paper sorting – where do all these piles come from? And if I am a really good girl I will get to dig into all the cool scrapbooking paper my sister gave me for my birthday last December. I plan to use it to scrap our first trip to Disney when Mari was five. What am I saying? I’ve already been a good girl – let’s pull out those supplies!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2007 3:52 pm

    A comment for Neil… Hi Neil! I recently bought NIN’s Year Zero too, and am totally in love with it!! I’ve always liked NIN but never actually bought any of their (or do you say “his”?) CDs. Last weekend I used some of my Zazzle earnings at Best Buy and changed all that, LOL! Now I’m tearing through them, loving each and every song. So I’m declaring myself officially as a NIN fan. Don’t worry Laura, nothing and no one could ever replace DM. It’s just that now I have a secondary obsession. 🙂

    Looking forward to the next podcast!

  2. August 27, 2007 3:58 pm

    Hey Heather… too funny. We just recorded the next podcast and we had an in-depth discussion about Year Zero. You can listen and then let us know if you agree with our assessment! It will be out on Sept. 1.

Leave a Reply

