Skip to content

Mission: Organization

August 17, 2007

Laura’s Blog Entry

I don’t know if it is the back-to-school frenzy that is in the air, but this week I am on an organizing binge. Inspiration could have come from the party at the cool loft we attended, combined with an organization consultation I did – but I am in the zone. I am currently filling up my second garbage bag of paper that I don’t need. Lots of shredding going on. Cleaned out the “Household Binder” where all the current school year info. will reside. Filed a six-inch stack of papers.

Plus I am cleaning out the “Homework Drawer” – or as Mari refers to it – “The Chamber of Horrors.”

This is where the pencils, paper, erasers, planning calendar and other instruments of torture reside. Soon Neil will be resuming his duties handling the homework sessions on the weekdays, and I will take my shift on Sundays. So the drawer prep is the least I can contribute to his thankless task.

Little Mari is quite a good student, but she hates her some homework. I think she finds it a great injustice that she puts in a good effort all day at school and then – oh the humanity – is expected TO DO MORE WORK in the evenings.

In the crafting realm, I also went through stacks of patterned and solid paper and brought it all together in its new little organized home.

Did I mention my slightly disturbing relationship with my label-maker?

Years ago Martha Stewart made it very clear that I needed one of these. Boy was she right! I’ve even been known to slap a label on something I made for a potluck dinner. Never hurts to let people know what they are eating.

I also like it for labeling binders. I like binders almost as much as I like my label-maker. Binders with page protectors inside… mmmmmm.

I have made a binder for each of Mari’s school years. This is possible because I have only one child. And before you think I am a little over-the-top with this, I will tell you that I only finished her second grade binder a few weeks ago. Third grade is all in a big plastic file box at the moment. Stuffed full. Maybe after school starts I’ll start on that one.

I am out of steam for today, but have earned a massive bowl of Graeter’s (only available in the month of August) coconut ice cream tonight.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2007 4:35 pm

    Want to come over to my house and get things organized? Pretty please? Don’t make me do it on my own, noooo…. We’ll have some houseguests in a few weeks and need to pull things together.

    We have a label maker too. We call it the Label Baby Junior, and it’s a wonder!

    Best of luck with your cleaning and decluttering. I’ll be treading that same path all too soon. Have a great weekend and….. Happy Anniversary! 🙂

  2. August 17, 2007 6:50 pm

    mmmm… co co nut… at least Coconut Chip is available year-round now.

  3. August 18, 2007 7:14 am

    I would label the dog for coconut ice cream.

  4. August 18, 2007 9:12 am

    So, everyone likes labeling and coconut ice cream. I see now what this blog needs to be about…

    Heather, I wish I were closer because nothing is more fun for me than helping someone organize their stuff. OK, I can think of a few things more fun, but not many.

    Mr. Bee – I hope Buddy is yet unlabeled! Although maybe he would like it!

  5. August 23, 2007 11:15 am

    A woman after my own heart! Love the labeler!

  6. HighlyDisorganized permalink
    September 6, 2007 11:03 am

    Let me tell you about organiziing! Laura has so graciously kept me accountable for getting my basement cleaned up. I think I might be borderline “Hoarder” when it comes to paperwork. She has helped me tremendously on many occassions to sort through and dispose of “amazingly stupid stuff that I save”. Haven’t even got to the labeling part yet, but would be very excited to get to that stage.
    As for coconut ice cream…I prefer chocolate!
    Thanks, Laura. You are the best!

Leave a Reply

