Skip to content

Summer Garden

August 9, 2007

Laura’s Blog Entry

OK, before I babble on about the garden, I feel I should post a photo of Trent Reznor for all those who stop by in their search of photos of him. Give the public what they want.

Now where was I…

The garden was in full bloom a week or so ago, and it merits another entry. Here are some highlights. For a girl who dresses mostly in black, I sure like the pink when it comes to flowers!

These are from earlier this spring:


Bleeding Heart


Iris
Yes, I like a good close-up.

Summer Flowers:


Zinnia
One of the few things I’ve been able to successfully grow from seed – thanks, Tara!


Iris Leaves


Phlox


Blackeyed Susans
Taken this morning – note the driftwood dragged back from the shores of Lake Erie. I really liked the shape of it.

One thing I love about gardens is the whole cooperative nature of them. A great deal of these plants were generously given by other gardeners. I bought the Daisies and the Bleeding Heart – the rest were from other people. When I look at them I see the people they came from, along with the beautiful blooms.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2007 3:38 pm

    Hi Smiths, these flower pics are gorgeous Trent doesn’t look too bad either!

    A n d r e w xX

  2. August 10, 2007 3:42 pm

    Hey there, Andrew. Yes, we know what our readers like! How’s 40 treating you?

  3. August 10, 2007 5:00 pm

    One week into being 40 and all my bits are still intact. I am embracing the next decade with zeal and vigour! Flying off to Latvia in the morning as part of the celebrations, this is the longest birthday I’ve ever had!

    A n d r e w

  4. August 14, 2007 8:50 pm

    Your Bleeding Hearts are beautiful! I left mine behind at our old house and regret it. But I do have the same phlox – aren’t they lovely? Wish they lasted longer though.

  5. August 15, 2007 7:00 am

    None of them look this way for long; I was lucky to snap pictures at the right time!

Leave a Reply

