Skip to content

Now Playing 3

July 25, 2007

Laura’s Blog Entry

Well the “Now Playing” playlist in my iTunes is up to 7 new songs, so it’s that time again.

“I’m an Errand Girl for Rhythm”

Diana Krall

I’ve been a Diana Krall fan for quite a while. Did you know she is married to Elvis Costello? Anyway, this song is from her album All for You: A Dedication to the Nat King Cole Trio. I found her on a music-finding expedition at our local cool bookstore, Joseph-Beth Booksellers. I went around the room putting on headphones, listening to the featured CD’s and fell in love with this one. I like the spirit of this record. It is just a straight-ahead, fun tribute to the classics. Is it just me, or is the song “Frim Fram Sauce” a wee bit suggestive…

“Jack Lemmon”

Saint Etienne

They just keep making the list, don’t they? I can’t get away from their happy, jazzy vibe. As a former flute player, the flute lines always get me. Don’t have any idea what this song has to do with Jack Lemmon. But all may be explained by watching the movie The Misadventures of Margaret starring Parker Posey. This song is from an album that was the soundtrack for this film… Hhmmm, I’ll have to look in to that…

“Ice Storm”

Satellite City

What Saint Etienne song is not followed up (or preceeded for that matter) by a song off the new Satellite City album Cincinnati Modern? You’ll be hearing lots about this record on our next podcast, but I just couldn’t wait to go on about it. Tony Miracle has put together some of the coolest little jazzy electro songs ever. You’ll get to hear a few tracks from it in August if you listen in.

“Only You”

Yaz(oo)

When I was introduced to Yaz I didn’t realize that it was Vince Clarke from Depeche Mode. Upstairs at Eric’s is such a great album. I remember an old boyfriend bought it for me on cassette. I was surprised because it wasn’t his usual kind of music. He was one of the drummers from my past. Yes there were a number of drummers. Only one really good one, though. But I digress. Alison Moyet can belt out the tunes. She and Vince were an amazing combo. This song came into my life when I was in a very good place, so it’s nice to be taken back there.

“See You”

Flunk

As always, I seem to be listening to one Depeche Mode cover or another… and what a sweet cover this is. This whole album is quite interesting. Neil tends to search for new stuff, purchase it and just listen. Then he plays it for me and I ask a lot of annoying questions – Who is this? Where are they from? He really doesn’t care about that stuff, but I am an information freak. So… they are from Norway. And you can hear their nice cover of New Order’s “Blue Monday” on their Myspace page.

“Jack’s Valentine”

Over the Rhine

I’m keeping it in the family, I just realized, featuring two local artists. Over the Rhine is one of my favorite bands. If you ever have the chance to see them live – you will not be disappointed. I had heard their recordings for years, but until I saw them perform I was missing out on something important. No recording device can fully capture Karin’s voice. It just sucks you in and pulls you down until you lose your breath. And just name a genre and they’ve kicked its butt. This is one of their rare spoken-word songs when you get to hear Linford vocalize. I never appreciated the blues until Over the Rhine showed me the light.

The 13th

The Cure

It’s high time I sing the praises of the Cure. This band is a mythical entity to me. Robert Smith shows me what I could only ever hope to be as an artist. Ever seen the video for this? Check it out. I love when The Cure gets jazzy. “I have to turn away to keep from bursting.” Great line. Why do I have to look ridiculous in black eye shadow when he looks so good…

Seven already? Another list is already brewing in my mind…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2007 10:29 am

    Yazoo’s “Upstairs at Eric’s” is one of those albums that brings back fond memories of when I was but a young whippersnapper. To be honest I actually preferred their second album “You and Me Both”. To this day I still actually like hearing Vince sing lead vocals on “Happy People”.

  2. July 25, 2007 10:40 am

    Hi Kevin! Yes, I like “You and Me Both,” but alas, I don’t have it on CD, so I haven’t listened to it in years. It is on my “to buy” list for sure. Thanks for commenting!

  3. Poor Boy permalink
    July 25, 2007 12:20 pm

    This is really good stuff, thanks so much for sharing! I’m usually not a fan of jazzy music, but really like Diana Kroll.

  4. July 26, 2007 9:11 am

    Howdy, Poor Boy – thanks for stopping by! I am more of a “pop” jazz fan, myself. I maky like experimental electronic music, but I’m not down with experimental jazz (at least not yet… you never know…)

Leave a Reply

