Skip to content

Why can’t it be a 48 1/2 hour film festival?

July 23, 2007

Neil’s Blog Entry

This weekend, I participated in Cincinnati’s 48 Hour Film Project with my friend Bill. You may remember that Bill served as my DP for the Battlestar Galactica shoot several months ago. This time around, Bill was directing and I did the editing and post production.

Sadly, we did not get it finished in time for the competition. I understand that we will be able to get it shown with the other entries for possible audience awards, but we won’t be eligible for any judged awards. This is sad to me because it was such a great little movie. It’s called “Happy Camper” and it tells the story of two odd friends who steal an RV, meet up with a wizard and find the meaning of life.

The shoot was very tough. First of all, it was a very ambitious script. Then we had numerous equipment problems – not to mention that shooting in a moving RV was a bit harder than any of us thought.

All in all, it was a great weekend and although I’m still kinda tired, I feel that we did our best and had a lot of fun. I hope to have the movie online very shortly, so check back soon for a link.

Also noteworthy, is the re-launch of my website, neilsmithmusic.com. It’s been down for quite some time now. This has led me to move my site to another web server… and with me being the tightwad that I am, means that once again, I’m using a free hosting service. Now some of you may say – wisely so – that “you get what you pay for.” And you would be absolutely correct. I have no defense. I am a loser.

Anyway, right now I’m waiting for the domain name (which is the little www-name you type in to get to my site) to propagate through the miles and miles of interweb tubes. Once that’s done, I’ll be right with the world. In the meantime, I do have a direct link to a temporary site (conveniently located on the sidebar on the right side of this page), so you can go visit my site now from there.

Lastly, I’ve been bitten by the music bug once again and will be starting working on some new stuff. I have no idea as to when I’ll have something for anyone to hear – probably months and months – but I’m starting to rough out some ideas.

So, that’s it for now. If you’re in the Cincinnati area on July 28, go check out the 48 Hour Film Project showings at the Carnegie Art Center in Covington, KY at 12:30.

For lack of a pithy ending catchphrase… Bye.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2007 9:49 am

    I can’t wait to see your movie – what’s up with those crazy hats, LOL! 🙂

  2. July 26, 2007 10:39 am

    We’ll let you know as soon as it is posted online. The hats play an important role!

Leave a Reply

