Skip to content

BSG Video Contest Part 8

May 10, 2007

Neil’s Blog Entry

Today was our first day of shooting. We were able to do a lot of the lighting and camera set-ups yesterday, so the shoot today went very smooth. This is something that I hope we’ll be doing for the shoot next week because it let me concentrate on the scenes and not so much on the technical side of things. Plus, I plan on giving Bill more free reign on the lighting set-ups for the next shoot. But, like I said, today went great! Everyone did a great job and we all had a lot of fun. Which is what it’s all about, right?

Anyway, we began the day shooting on location. “On location” means our offices at work. But the area was just perfect for what we needed.

We’re using a Sony Z1U camera with a Red Rock Micro 35mm lens adaptor with Nikon lenses. And the footage we got looks absolutely fantastic! I’m really pumped about next week’s shoot.

We started at about 10:00 this morning. Dave was great as our lead character; Bill was behind the camera capturing everything; Susan was making sure we were getting all of our shots; Laura was our clapper girl (among many other things); and I spent the day looking into the monitor.

At noon, we broke for lunch and went to Skyline Chili. For those of you who don’t know, Cincinnati is famous for it’s chili – although it’s not your usual chili as it has cinnamon and chocolate in it and comes in something called a “three-way.” Trust me – it’s delicious.

Back to the shoot, we spent the afternoon on our set. The set was beautifully built by my friend Jay, and we spent the last two days decorating it. I hope I’m not giving anything away by showing these photos, but I think it deserves a look-see.

So now we wait until this time next week to continue shooting. Until then, I will be starting on the editing, sound and visual effects, etc. I’ll be posting more details about that once I get underway.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

