Skip to content

BSG Video Contest – Part 1

March 30, 2007

Neil’s Blog Entry

OK – I thought it might be time to put myself on the blog here. I will be documenting my involvement in the Battlestar Galactica Videomaker Contest. More information on the contest is available at SCIFI.COM so I won’t go into all the details. Rather, in upcoming blog entries, I will be talking about the process of making the video. So here we go…

First up was writing the script (which I am going to keep secret for now). I got together two friends of mine who are avid BSG fans for a bit of brainstorming. We came up some really interesting ideas… some funny… some not so funny. In the end we asked ourselves what are things we really liked about BSG and why… and what are some things that interest us, but we haven’t seen yet. So the general idea came about to do a short video that would sit well with the series. Something that, once completed, would look like an extended scene or some short promotional episode – kind of like the “Resistance” webisodes they did between seasons 2 and 3.

Anyway, I took all of our ideas and went off to write the script. It came together quite fast. I believe I had a rough draft in about a day. There was a bit of tweaking done here and there and the final script was completed in a few days time.

Once the script was completed, we called together a bunch of friends who were interested in helping out. We all talked about the different roles to play – both in front of and behind the camera – and all the specific things that needed to be done. At the same time, my friend Bill and I scouted locations for shooting and reviewed some episodes on DVD to more familiarize ourselves with the BSG look and feel.

The production roles are now pretty much set. Our next step in pre-production will be to story-board the script, get sets constructed, props and costumes made, etc. We are also doing some screen tests next week to see how our actor friends will do in their parts.

Well, that’s it for now. Check back each week or so to see how we progress. Should be fun!

Our first prop! Yes, it involves paper! I hope that’s not too much of a spoiler.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

