Skip to content

Behind the Podcast – Episode 3

March 2, 2007

Laura’s Blog Entry

Well, the March episode is up. As I munch on my English Muffin I thought I would share some of my thoughts about it.

First of all I love Neil’s opening track, “A Different Way of Seeing.” Sometimes when you hear a song on its own, not with the rest of the album it takes on a different life. It’s a different way of listening, I guess!

I am also loving “Men Neil Finds Attractive.” Neil likes it too, despite his protests. For those who may not have seen Dave Gahan’s tattoos, here is a little sample. Photo is from Depechemode.com and was taken by Anton Corbijn.

Little know fact, Neil’s dad did not actually have bottles of Jack, with or without Mr. Yuck stickers.

I am so anxious to get the rest of the DM Remasters that come out – hopefully – at the end of the month. The final four are:

Construction Time Again
Ultra
Exciter
Black Celebration
– the one I can’t wait to get my hands on!!!!! This is my favorite DM album, and I plan to discuss why on a future episode, so I won’t do it here.

Below is a photo of Neil’s motorcycle:

I really hope Neil can get out and start it up in the next few days. He’s been waiting for a dry day over 40 degrees. It won’t start below 40. He’s a bit stir crazy not being able to ride.

Is Mari not the cutest thing ever? I know I am biased, but I really have very little to do with her cuteness. I love her songs. She wrote the Irish tune 5 minutes before recording it. Can you tell she heard a lot of Depeche Mode in the womb?

As a result of this episode some of the artist are starting to network with each other. That had got to be the coolest thing that has happened. We didn’t really have a purpose for starting the podcast, but this is better than anything we could have come up with. I am constantly amazed at the love out there in cyberspace. I used to make fun of people who spend tons of time online. But now I am one of them! And I have met some amazing, inspiring and totally cool people. I used to mock mySpace “friends.” Now I have them! I so appreciate the support from everyone for the podcast. And we can’t wait to get going on the April episode.

There is already a rough outline, and I promise we will be taking embarrassing ourselves to a new level!

OK, this is long enough. We have a busy weekend ahead – The Home and Garden Show at the Convention Center (I hope to get a glimpse of Food Network’s Alton Brown!) and a CD release event for Steve Manuel. I will be snapping photos, so check back next week for the highlights…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

