Skip to content

Storm Cloud Shawlette

July 17, 2014

Laura’s Blog Entry

This project began with yarn I inherited from a friend who was destashing. (Hi Padgy!) She generously passed it on to me. The yarn is Chakra by Mango Moon. It is such an unusual yarn I think I will use Mango Moon’s description to explain it:

Our beautiful recycled viscose is plied with a strand of our springy Capelli, a complementary strand of cotton and a strand of individually hand-tied beads and stones. The Capelli gives the yarn stretch, the cotton provides softness and body, but the beads make this yarn a stunner.

Your purchase helps the Indonesian men and women who spin this beautiful recycled fiber provide health care, shelter and education for their families. As this product is handspun, no two skeins are exactly alike.

I love to use products that are globally-minded like this. The color is 9206, Lime Purple.

Anyway, so I had this fun yarn. So colorful! So funky! Not something I usually work with. What’s the best way to choose a project? Ravelry, of course. I used their amazing search function to look for a shawlette that would work with the yardage I had available. After a quick swatch, it seemed like knitting it loosely would be the way to go. The yarn would go further and the finished product would spread out the weight of those beads. They are pretty heavy!

I ended up finding a shape I liked, the Stormcloud Shawlette, and adapting it by using size 10 ½ needles to accommodate the larger yarn. The two skein were easy to transport on our vacation flight in my carry on bag. I  knit  it on  some security-friendly bamboo needles.

It came out great! I had just enough yarn that the last increase row gave it a ruffled appearance, which I wanted. From the front, it almost looks like a shrug.

From the back it has the drape of a shawl. It is perfect for summer over a tank top, for when I am in air conditioning and need a tad more coverage.

Novelty yarn can be fun! Dip your toe in with a small accessory project. There could be some more bead projects in my future, I think!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2014 11:31 am

    This is just gorgeous, Laura. That beautiful yarn fits the pattern so perfectly. Well done! :)

  2. July 17, 2014 12:27 pm

    Thanks so much Sarah! I do love when the right yarn finds the right pattern. Such a creative rush!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 539 other followers

