Skip to content

Yarn Along – 2/19/14

February 19, 2014

Laura’s Blog Entry

Joining Ginny today in her Yarn Along.

Another week has gone by? What? Well at least I have some knitting to share. Lots of other things happening; none of which are completed and/or blog-ready. So more knitting!

This is a slow-moving project, The Ogee Lace Skirt. (Ravelry Link) It’s a heavier weight wrap skirt I found in Interweave Knits magazine, Summer 2007 issue.

I thought it would be cute over jeans. I am using leftover Cascade 220 in color 4002 – Jet. It’s a nice, dark charcoal gray that reads black. I am not so quick with the lace charts, but it is moving along. I always get faster as I go on these things, so the pace is increasing. I am learning to read the lace, which makes it easier to anticipate and/or correct mistakes. I only get in a couple of rows a day on this though. It takes total concentration, and I don’t have much concentration to  spare right now.

I just picked up this book on CD today from the library. It is Justice Hall,  the sixth book in Lori R. King’s Mary Russell series (that started with The Beekeeper’s Apprentice). We’ve been watching the BBC’s current production of “Sherlock” on TV. *love* This book series is yet another interesting take on the classic series. The book takes place in the original time period, but the with addition of the Mary Russell character. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle certainly was on to something with the character of Sherlock. I love seeing the different ways the story can be reinterpreted.

I prefer this series on audio book. I find that it is a little harder to get through when I read them as books. Plus I can gets lots done and hear a story at the same time. The ultimate distraction technique! Hoping it will be enjoyable. Only listened to the first few chapters so far.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2014 11:47 am

    Lovely knitting!

  2. February 19, 2014 5:41 pm

    Great pattern. Neat idea to wear over jeans.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 534 other followers

