Skip to content

Yarn Along – 2/12/14

February 12, 2014

Laura’s Blog Entry

Happy to be joining Ginny today in her yarn along. I am excited to have both a new book and a new project to share.

I am knitting the Mindful Yoga Socks (Ravelry link) by Diana McKay. I am getting in more yoga than ever, but it’s just so cold when I take off my socks! Hoping these will do the trick – keep me warmer but help me maintain a stable and non-slip base.

Seeing so many amazing self-striping yarns lately that I figured I’d use all my leftovers to make my own version! Luckily I have made a number of things that go together well. I am down to the last few inches of the first one, so I might have my yoga socks before spring arrives. Hopefully!

The book I am reading is a new-to-me mystery series by Dana Stabenow. The main character is Kate Shugak, an investigator who lives in Alaska. This fits in well with my “Alaska State Troopers” obsession. Oh yes, I dearly love that show! It’s very comforting to know there are such patient and dedicated people serving their communities. But I digress. The book is fiction, but you might see a trooper or two!

I am halfway through and enjoying it. I love meeting a new character and learning what makes her tick. The author doesn’t spoon-feed the backstory, which I find engages me more. I want to find out! I’ve heard there are 20 books in this series. Hee haw! I miss having a new Spencer book from Robert B. Parker each year, so this information makes me pretty happy.

I am considering going back and rereading all the Spencer books again from the beginning. The development of all the characters and their relationships over the course of the series was most enjoyable. I may even *gasp* purchase actual copies of the books. I know. That is rare!

FYI, the first Kate Shugak is free right now on Amazon Kindle. That’s how they get you! Or at least me. Book #2 is already reserved from the library. This just might keep me from bugging out during the end of February doldrums!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2014 4:54 pm

    What a great idea to use your leftovers. I’m going to hop over and listen to your podcast next!

  2. February 12, 2014 5:45 pm

    Thanks, Donna! I do have bad news about the podcast. We lost our hosting, so it is no longer online! Sorry about that! We hope to figure a way to get them online again. Too many irons in the fire at the moment!

  3. February 12, 2014 6:22 pm

    What a fun knit!!!

  4. February 12, 2014 11:46 pm

    I’m always on the lookout for new-to-me mystery series, so I appreciate the recommendations. Off to check out my library’s online catalogue!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 532 other followers

