Skip to content

Merry Christmas!

December 25, 2013

Laura’s Blog Entry

Wishing everyone a wonderful holiday!

Kickin’ It Old Skool Blog-a-Thon : Day Twenty-Five
All this month I am blogging from some prompts from Jamie and Shannon Ridler for the Kickin’ It Old School Blog-a-Thon.

Today’s Prompt: Share a holiday tradition, memory or event.

So many traditions around here. Many of them revolve around food! Mari and I did some baking. We experimented with a grain-free peanut butter and chocolate cookie that ended up to die for! I will post the recipe soon.

We had a lovely breakfast this morning. French toast, bacon and fresh squeezed orange juice. I didn’t ration the bacon for a change! Everybody wins! Later we are splurging on our once a year beef fillet with asparagus and flourless chocolate cake. Swoon. As you can see, I have successfully found a way to have treats with no grain. Not an easy task, but I am determined!

While we don’t go big on outdoor decorations, we got my daughter a long-requested light up reindeer a number of years ago. She named it Nighttime. It is fun to have something a little festive outdoors.

Christmas morning for us starts with stockings. I can’t help it. I love putting these together. It’s how I justify buy the makeup Mari and I really want! (And the movie Neil really wanted.) And chocolate.

This is our first year with a working fireplace and we are really enjoying it.

Another holiday tradition for me is all the gift wrapping. It was my favorite thing to do when I worked retail – to be able to go in stock room and wrap the gifts. I love selecting the materials most of all. This is the third year for this paper – I finally used it all up. Boy were those big rolls! My love of wrapping started years ago when Martha Stewart came out with her Christmas book. She made her own brown craft paper wrap decorated with gold. I got stamps and gold ink and went nuts! I don’t make my own anymore… ‘cause that’s just crazy… but I do carefully select grosgrain ribbon and make tags. Because that is much more reasonable. Anyway, here’s this year’s wrapping:


Finally, I thought I would share a few cat pictures, because who doesn’t love that?

Kitty in the manger. I caught him in between attempts to climb the tree.

And finally:

I think he was so mad about this set up that he sat there for 20 minutes, in defiance of his appearance. Happy holidays, everyone!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 25, 2013 3:15 pm

    Thanks for sharing. And beautiful furbabies! Merry Christmas!

  2. December 25, 2013 6:29 pm

    Oh man, those cookies look awesome! And your cat is adorable. :) I love that reindeer as well, I have always wanted one of those, I love them. Merry Christmas!

  3. December 25, 2013 7:35 pm

    Merry Christmas Laura! I can’t wait for the cookie recipe. Our cat used to play in the tree, but now that she is older and wiser, she just sleeps by the tree.

  4. December 26, 2013 12:26 am

    Love the cat pictures as well as just reading about your traditions. Very nice.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 512 other followers

