Skip to content

Reading Nook

December 23, 2013

Laura’s Blog Entry

Kickin’ It Old Skool Blog-a-Thon : Day Twenty-Three
All this month I am blogging from some prompts from Jamie and Shannon Ridler for the Kickin’ It Old School Blog-a-Thon.

Today’s Prompt: Let’s Talk About Books!

Oh goodie! I do love talking about books as much as movies and music!

I think my book of the year for 2013 would have to be The Night Circus, by Erin Morgenstern.

The thing I enjoy and remember most about books is the atmosphere… and the feeling the book gives me. The Night Circus has interesting characters and an engaging story, but what I loved about this book was the writing style. It is just beautifully written. The descriptions are rich, but not too wordy. I was totally engrossed in the world it created. I wish I could have gone on reading it forever!

Quick Plot Summary:  The setting of the story is Le Cirque des Rêves, a magical traveling circus that is only open at night. It also involves a duel between two magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since birth for this competition. Like I said, the joy is more in the telling of the story than in the story itself. I totally loved this book!

Most influential books of 2013 for me were the second and third parts of the Hunger Games trilogy, Catching Fire and Mockingjay, by Suzanne Collins.

These books really made me think. Each year I am more deeply concerned with the direction of country regarding not only political issues but also environmental and human rights issues. I was interested to hear about Suzanne’s inspiration for the series and I feel she communicated her concerns in a way people of all ages can relate to. I know there was a lot of hoopla about these books and movies, but I think the series is  great and provides good discussions points for parents and children. I won’t bother with a plot summary, as you probably are on Hunger Games overload already!

Runner up for something or other this year is A Prayer for Owen Meany, by John Irving.

This makes the list due to my resistance to reading it for my book club. I’ve read or tried to read a couple other of Irving’s books and did not care for them. I gave Owen Meany a try, as it came with a good recommendation. It really surprised me. Yes, the main character goes on and on about the Vietnam War, which I know turns some people off. I felt it served a purpose. I felt the characters were wonderful, the story unfolded in an interesting manner and the ending blew me away. It brought everything together. Extremely masterful writing. It’s a very long book, but I would recommend it for writers. I found it inspiringly crafted.

Plot Summary: This is the story of two childhood friends, Johnny Wheelwright, the narrator, and an extraordinary boy named Owen Meany. They are linked together by an accident and this is the story of how they unravel a mystery as they grow up. It had some laugh-out-loud moments for me. In fact I am reading my family the section of the Christmas pageant this holiday. The rest of the book is not kid-friendly, though. Adult language and situations.

So what books did you discover this year?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2013 2:57 pm

    I’ve read The Hunger games books and Owen Meany, loved those! The Night Circus sounds right up my alley! (And the wishlist grows longer again…)
    Thanks for the tip! I shared pics of my book wall today.

  2. December 23, 2013 6:52 pm

    The Night Circus in my rather towering bedside to-be-read pile, but for sure now I’ll be moving it to the top.

  3. December 23, 2013 8:05 pm

    I loved the Night Circus! I haven’t read Hunger Games yet. On my list though.
    blessings
    ~*~

  4. December 23, 2013 9:18 pm

    I love the Night Circus!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 539 other followers

