Skip to content

Roasted Squash Fall Salad

October 4, 2012

Laura’s Blog Entry

I don’t know about you, but by the end of summer I am kind of salad-ed out. I eat more salads each week than I can count, so when something new comes along I am shouting for joy!

Last year I started using cooked, cubed butternut squash on salads, but recently I found a new twist. MissChievous.com featured a killer fall salad. [Great site for makeup tutorials, by the way. She shows how to blend eye shadow colors for amazing effects!]

Her salad was made with seasoned, roasted pumpkin, but I had butternut squash on hand so I used that. One other substitution I made was that I used Garam Masala spice blend. it seemed to have similar ingredients to the Ras el Hanout spice mix she called for. I also went very light on the spices. I like a touch of curry, but nothing too strong.

The salad has lots of ingredients, but don’t be intimidated. It is easily simplified. If you only have the squash, spinach, figs and nuts like I did it will still be great! A feta cheese would probably be quite nice as well. And maybe some edamame. The options are endless. I found the fresh figs at Whole Foods. They are a wonderful addition to any salad.

I liked the dressing a lot. I think it needed a touch of sweetness that I will add next time. Honey, maple syrup, something like that.

With a cup of creamy potato or carrot ginger soup and it is the perfect fall meal. Here’s a video of her making the salad.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2012 3:29 am

    This looks divine, I’ll have this when we see you at some point please :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 538 other followers

